Live: Hope At The Hideout | CD


Incl. VAT, Excluding Shipping

anti-records - Live: Hope At The Hideout | CD
CDs (£10.90)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information


  1. For What It’s Worth
  2. Eyes on the Prize
  3. Down in Mississippi
  4. Wade in the Water
  5. Waiting For My Child
  6. This Little Light
  7. Why Am I Treated So Bad
  8. Freedom Highway
  9. We Shall Not Be Moved
  10. Circle Intro
  11. Will The Circle Be Unbroken
  12. On My Way
  13. I’ll Take You There

On Monday June 23rd 2008, a lucky few were treated to an intimate performance at Chicago’s legendary roots club the Hideout, by the leading lady of protest, Mavis Staples. Accustomed to appearances at large venues, particularly in her hometown, Staples played with a stripped down, raw and swampy three-piece band and just a handful of back-up singers, providing a rare opportunity for fans to get close and sweaty with a figure who has led the musical charge towards equality and justice for the past five decades. Fortunately, the magical set was captured on tape, and now the rest of us can experience the righteous protest and joyful inspiration via Mavis Staples Live: Hope at the Hideout. Coming off her critically lauded release We’ll Never Turn Back – a potent mix of her classic civil rights Freedom Songs alongside some fiery new compositions cowritten with album producer, Ry Cooder – Mavis has returned, more engaged than ever with her legacy, and has been out on the road flooring both diehard fans and an increasing number of young new converts with her electrifying live show.

“Southern blues-soul-gospel of an order that has not been heard since The Neville Brothers’ Yellow Moon. History has never sounded this groovy” – Independent On Sunday

Related Products